

Arizona Board of Regents 2020 N. Central Eenue, Suite 230 Phoeni EAZ 85004 (602) 229-2500 Fax (602) 229-2555 www.azregents.edu

Contact : Sarah Harper, 602-229-2542, 602-402-1341 Sarah.K.Harper@azregents.edu

Arizona Board of Regents Elects 2013-14 Officers

(Tucson, Ariz.) – The Arizona Board of Regents (ABOR) elected 2013-14 board officers at its meeting last week and selected Regent Rick Myers to continue as chair of the Board. Regent Mark Killian was elected vice chair, Regent Dennis DeConcini was reelected secretary, and Regent LuAnn Leonard was elected treasurer. Student Regent Kaitlin Thomson will serve as assistant treasurer. The officers take their positions July 1, 2013.

Governor Jan Brewer appointed Rick Myers to an eight-year term on the Arizona Board of Regents in January 2010. It ion to servitas chair of the Board , Myers also chairs the Regents' Executive Committee and is an ex-officio member of all standitabor committees.

Myers serves on the board of directors for Critical Path Institute and was that organization's chief operating officer for more than three years. Critical Path is a non-profit organization that works with the pharmaceutical iEstry, patient groups, academia and the Food and Drug Admifion to tackle significant issues in drug development. Prior to joiEritical Path Ife, Myers was the vice president and general manager of IBM Tucson. He retired from IBM in 2003 after a 25-year career with the company.

Myers is a civic leader iEcson and across the state. He is a member of the Tucson Airport Authority and cochaired the Citizens Committee of the RegionalraErtation Authority in 2006. He is a current member and past chairman of the Southern Arizona Leadership Council. In 2012, Myers received the "AZBio Public Service Award" from the Arizona BioIndustry Associationcognitionf his tireless efforts and advocacy for research, innovation education in Arizona.edication and service to Tucson and Southern Arizona also has been recognized by the Greater Tucson Leadership who named Myers their 2012 Man of the Year.

The Arizona Board of Regents 12-member board currently ides Senator Dennis DeConcini, Jay Heiler, Mark Killian, Ram Krishna, LuAnn Leonard, Anne Mariucci, Rick Myers, Greg Patterson, and Student Regents Tyler Bowyer and Kaitlin Thompson. Governor Jan Brewer and Superintendent of Public Ion John Huppenthal are ex-officio members.

###

The Arena Boart of Regents is committe to esurfaccess for qualified residents of Arena to under Huatean greuate instribution prenoting the discover Eapplication an dissemination of new knowledge; extenin g the benefits of univer Hy activities to Arena's citizens outside the univer Hy; an maximizing the benefits der Ed french the state's investment in education. For Enor Enformation vi sit